216.292.GURU (4878) INFO@ACENDEX.COM

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a framework crafted by the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) to bolster the cybersecurity resilience of the Defense Industrial Base (DIB) in response to the increasing threat of cyber-attacks on entities handling sensitive government information. CMMC categorizes cybersecurity maturity into five levels, spanning from fundamental cyber hygiene practices to advanced capabilities.

For defense contracts, CMMC mandates that organizations undergo third-party assessments facilitated by accredited CMMC Third-Party Assessment Organizations (C3PAOs). These assessments scrutinize an organization’s adherence to security controls and practices outlined in the CMMC framework, with the primary goal of safeguarding Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI).

The certification process is supervised by the CMMC Accreditation Body (CMMC-AB), ensuring the consistency and integrity of the certification process. The framework places a strong emphasis on continuous improvement, urging organizations to evolve their cybersecurity capabilities over time to effectively counter emerging threats. Contractors and subcontractors aspiring to attain CMMC certification should remain informed through official channels to stay updated on the latest guidance and updates in the dynamic landscape of cybersecurity requirements.

Acendex offers a simplified approach to CMMC Level 2 Compliance through their CMMC Managed Service Provider (MSP) offerings. Our services include discovery, gap analysis, remediation planning, assistance with control implementation, SIEM systems setup, and ensuring a successful third-party audit.

To get CMMC certification, you need to follow these general steps:

  1. Understand Your CMMC Level Requirements:

– CMMC is divided into five levels listed below, each with its own set of cybersecurity practices and processes. Determine the CMMC level that applies to your organization based on the contracts you are bidding for.

– Level 1 – Basic Cyber Hygiene, Level 2 – Intermediate Cyber Hygiene, Level 3 – Good Cyber Hygiene, Level 4 – Proactive, Level 5 – Advanced / Progressive.

  1. Self-Assessment:

– Conduct a self-assessment of your organization’s current cybersecurity practices against the CMMC requirements. This will help you identify any gaps that need to be addressed before seeking certification.

  1. Select an Accredited C3PAO:

– The CMMC Accreditation Body (CMMC-AB) certifies third-party assessment organizations (C3PAOs) to conduct assessments and issue certifications. Choose a C3PAO that is accredited by the CMMC-AB.

  1. Prepare for the Assessment:

– Work on closing the identified gaps in your cybersecurity practices. Implement the necessary controls and documentation required for the specific CMMC level you are targeting.

  1. Engage with a Registered Practitioner (RP):

– RPs are individuals who have been trained and certified by the CMMC-AB to assist organizations in preparing for CMMC assessments. Engaging with an RP can provide valuable guidance during the preparation process.

  1. Request a CMMC Assessment:

– Contact your chosen C3PAO to request a CMMC assessment. The assessment will involve a thorough review of your organization’s cybersecurity practices determining compliance with the relevant CMMC level.

  1. Receive Certification:

– If your organization successfully meets the requirements of the chosen CMMC level, the C3PAO will issue a certification. This certification demonstrates your organization’s commitment to cybersecurity and its ability to handle sensitive government information.

  1. Maintain and Renew Certification:

– CMMC certifications are valid for three years. Organizations must continue to maintain and improve their cybersecurity practices to remain compliant. Regular assessments may be required for recertification.

Collaborating with Acendex offers several advantages. You’ll gain access to expert guidance, allowing you to partner with a trusted advisor who can help you navigate the complexities of CMMC. This partnership ensures that you stay ahead of potential future requirements as the cybersecurity landscape evolves.

By working with Acendex, you enhance your chances of securing Department of Defense (DoD) contracts by showcasing your compliance with CMMC. You can have peace of mind, knowing that your organization’s cybersecurity measures meet the stringent standards set by the government.

Read more about our CMMC Consulting services.